What is Idaho Trail Junkie?

Welcome to Idaho Trail Junkie. My name is Scott, and I am a hiking addict. I created this blog as a source for you to get information on great hiking locations throughout Southeast Idaho and the surrounding area. I’ll share tips, reviews, and info on some of the most beautiful places in the world. And if you are in Southeast Idaho or near by, these places are right in your back yard. I hope this will be a great resource for you, whether you are a recovering couch potato or you have braved Mount Everest. Over the past few years, I have become an avid hiker. I am a senior at BYU-Idaho, and have had the chance to hike through some jaw-dropping places while here. If you are a student at BYU-Idaho, Idaho State University, or another local college/university, I hope to make this blog especially relevant to you. If you are not, I hope you’ll still come along for the ride.

We live in an amazing time. In the twenty first century, we have technology that inspires, amazes and improves our lives in dramatic ways. We have instant entertainment at our fingertips through the internet, through social media, on television, video games, and in countless other forms. We have malls, restaurants, and movie theaters. We can find a lot of this without leaving town or even our own homes. So why should we explore the natural world around us?

We are very lucky to be in an area with vast expanses of unspoiled natural wilderness. We have mountains that leave us in awe. Canyons that defy description. Flowered meadows and woodlands that inspire wonder. Growing up in places that did not have all these things, I have come to realize that where cool scenery is concerned, we have one of the best slices of the whole pie right here in our own back yard. So, while our modern conveniences serve their purpose, I hope you will be inspired to get out more. Even if you are already a regular Davey Crockett. In each of us there is an innate need to explore the unknown, to reconnect with a natural world that we very much are a part of and belong to. There are few places in the world that can offer a more excellent opportunity to do that than right here.

My point is that more than being able to merely entertain us, the great outdoors provides us with an opportunity to take home a truly valuable and memorable experience. They help fulfill and satisfy a primal need and can give us some of the most valued experiences of our lives.

You may have never been on a hike in your life, or you may be the most outdoorsy of the outdoorsy. And either one is okay. I learn something and gain something from every hike I go on. Everyone may take home a different and unique experience. If you are a beginner, I hope I can help you get out there more, and if you are a more seasoned hiker than myself, maybe we can help each other out.

In addition to giving profiles on many amazing hikes, I will discuss other topics such as:

  • Hiking for beginners
  • Protecting and conserving  the wilderness
  • First aid and safety
  • Survival prep
  • The proper gear
  • Several other topics

I hope you enjoy. If you like what you see, follow me on Instagram @IdahoTrailJunkie and share my posts on Facebook and Twitter. Also, feel free to comment on my posts!

Let’s get out there!

Leave a Reply

